Note: The option of participating with patterns is now closed since the project is officially finished

E-learning Design Patterns Repository

In the E-learning Design Patterns Repository you will find a collection of design pattern for e-learning. These patterns have been jointly developed within the E-LEN projects. This repository is an active entity which is constantly enlarged with the addition of new design patterns. We call all interested people to visit the patterns and reuse the design experience that is projected into the design patterns.

Explore the E-learning Design Patterns Repository

The patterns of our repository have been classified into four different Special Interest Groups (SIG). You can see the description of each SIG when you check one of them. You can further explore the patterns within each SIG and make comments or submit your own patterns. Design patterns are always open to improvement. Since the evolution of a structured collection of patters and the establishment of a pattern language is a collective endeavour, we invite you to participate in the process and welcome your suggestions and criticism.

Check a SIG with the radio button, find out its description and explore the patterns of each SIG

SIG 1: Learning resources and LMS
SIG 2: Lifelong learning
SIG 3: Collaborative learning
SIG 4: Adaptive learning
SIG Description

What are patterns?

Design patterns originate in the work of the architect Christopher Alexander. They have been adopted in software engineering and are now flowing into other areas, such as educational design. A pattern ‘describes a problem which occurs over and over again in our environment, and then describes the core of the solution to that problem, in such a way that you can use this solution a million times over, without ever doing it the same way twice’ (Alexander et al., 1977, A Pattern Language, Oxford University Press, p.x).


These pages are designed by TISIP. Comments regarding functionality or design should be sent to the e-len webmaster
University of Cyprus, Dept of Computer Science Maastricht McLuhan Instituut – Universiteit Maastricht Open Universiteit Nederland Open Universiteit Nederland Norgesnettet med IT for Open Læring – NITOL A Priori Limited The University of Bergen - InterMedia NTUA – National Technological University of Athens - Institute of Communication and Computer Systems (ICCS) Polotecnico di Milano - HOC – Hypermedia Open Center at the Department of Electronics and Information Institut für Medien- und Kommunikationswisseschaft (IfMK); Technische Universität Ilmenau Design of Multimedia Systems Lancaster University CSALT - The Centre for Studies in Advanced Learning Technology